Top 10: Intimidating Books

Intimidating Books are the topic of this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. These are the books that I look at and they scare me slightly. Whether it be size, topic, writing style, or the popularity of the book, they are intimidating to me. But eventually, I have to get over my fear of these books and get to it.

Casual Vacancy
1. The Casual Vacancy by: J.K. Rowling This book is crazy intimidating, not just with the size but by the fact that it may not be as amazing as Harry Potter was/is. When I finally started reading it, it took me much longer than usual to finish, but by the end she finished strong as per usual.

2. Crime and Punishment by: Fyodor Dostoyevsky What can I say about this, it is a rough read for me. I keep wanting to reread it and see if I like it more than the first time. The Russian names and the writing, not to mention the monstrous size, keep me from picking it up again.

3. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by: J.K. Rowling As much as I love Harry Potter, Book 4 is without a doubt the hardest one for me to get through. I take one look at how huge it is and I seriously struggle with my want to read it. Is it okay if I skip over it when reading through the series? I didn’t think so, I’ve got to overcome this!

4. A Walk To Remember by: Nicholas Sparks I love love love this movie and I am nervous that the book will not be as amazing. However, Nicholas Sparks rarely disappoints me, so I doubt it will, but this is my reason for it staying on my bookshelf.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by: John Green I hear over and over again that this book is incredible, and usually I’m not intimidated by the popularity of books. But I guess this is the exception, I hope it is as good as everyone says.

6. Catch 22 by: Joseph Heller This has made it onto a few of my lists, it was a slightly difficult read and one I’d always wanted to read. One of my Bucket List reads, and it was really intimidating to finally pick up, once I did it was ridiculously entertaining. As long as you pick up on all the witty lines.

7. Great Expectations by: Charles Dickens Charles Dickens is a legend and I want to read all his books, but I’m worried that once I dive into his works that they may not be all I’ve expected. Talk about Great Expectations. :)

8. City of Bones by: Cassandra Clare I keep seeing previews for the Movie coming out, and think I want to read this series. I have yet to pick it up, I keep debating whether or not I will like the storyline. Sometimes the stories in general are intimidating.

9. Pretty Little Liars by: Sara Shepard The TV Series is amazing, and I have yet to see a book to tv adaptation that I have read. I have always wondered how adapting a book into a show works, but I wonder if it will take away from the TV Show?

10. The Kill Order by: James Dashner I loved The Maze Runner and usually I don’t have a problem with prequels but this one has stopped me in my tracks and I haven’t been able to read it yet.

4 thoughts on “Top 10: Intimidating Books

  1. I read two of the PLL books recently as I really liked the TV show but what bothered me the most about them was that each girl has her own chapters and so the girls aren’t featured together as much, like they are in the tv show.

  2. A walk to remember is a bit different than the movie and I actually almost liked it more than the movie. TFiOS is a good book. Even my friend that is into A fantasy liked it. She said she wasn’t in love with it but she really liked it. Maybe that will help. Also, City of Bones is very… interesting. After reading the first book I was mad and stopped reading the series. I picked up City of Ashes and ever since then, I’ve become a fan of sorts. Not a die hard one though.

  3. The Causal Vacancy is good–but very, very different from HP. It’s about how people are imperfect, fail in many ways, and struggle on. Not full of hope or heroes at all.

Leave a Reply

